RLODC Quarter Final: Kent v Yorkshire

RLODC Quarter Final: Kent v Yorkshire

Rewind just a month or two, and Yorkshire would hardly have registered this as one of their biggest weeks of the season.

Languishing in both one-day competitions – a disappointing trend in recent years – it seemed unlikely that the Vikings would make it to the latter stages but, with Finals Day heavy on the mind, Yorkshire also have a Royal London One-Day Cup quarter-final on their hands.

Recovering sufficiently to sneak through in third in the North Group, Jason Gillespie’s side make the trip to Kent this afternoon having already profited from a knockout victory on the road at Glamorgan, that time in the Natwest T20 Blast.

Today’s visitors to Canterbury reached the same stage last year, overcoming Essex in the quarter finals before eventually succumbing to eventual-winners Gloucestershire in the last four.

Kent also profited from a spell in the knockout stages, making the last eight prior to losing to Surrey by 20 runs.

The Spitfires finished second in the South Group, enough to earn a home quarter-final as they look to avenge last year’s disappointment.

Key Men

Darren Stevens is celebrating his 500th game in Kent colours, and the canny all-rounder has shown he still has plenty to offer the Spitfires. With 126 wickets and more than 7,000 runs in the format, the 40-year-old has bags of talent to partner his experience, while also going for less than four runs per over – the second best economy for a Kent man this term.

He’s back, folks. For a rare occasion, Joe Root dons the Yorkshire colours. With a drive for the treble, Yorkshire have a chance to use their big guns, and Root possesses a knack of doing it for the White Rose, bludgeoning a gloriously orchestrated 92 from 51 balls in Blast action against Lancashire

Team News

Kent have won the toss and elected to field first.

Kent XI: Joe Denly, Daniel Bell-Drummond, Sam Northeast, Sam Billings, Darren Stevens, Alex Blake, Will Gidman, Matt Coles, James Tredwell, Mitch Claydon, Charlie Hartley

Yorkshire XI: Adam Lyth, Alex Lees, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Gary Ballance, Tim Bresnan, David Willey, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Azeem Rafiq, Steve Patterson


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.