Glamorgan beat Durham to win One-day Cup

Glamorgan beat Durham to win One-day Cup

Glamorgan were crowned One-Day Cup champions for the first time after winning a gripping final against Durham at Trent Bridge. Both sides had topped their groups and produced an exciting final with the Welsh side coming out on top by 58 runs. 

Bowling first after winning the toss, Durham kept things tight early on and were rewarded when Hamish Rutherford played a loose shot and was caught for 15. 

The first powerplay was evenly contested with Glamorgan reaching 44-1 from 10 overs. A superb catch from Cameron Bancroft saw the end of Steven Reingold for 14 with the returning Ben Raine taking the wicket. 

As has been the case for much of the tournament, Chris Rushworth bowled his 10 overs straight through but after he was off, Glamorgan found runs easier to come to by.

A partnership of 106 from 95 between Nick Selman and Kiran Carlson was hugely entertaining with the latter passing 50 from 40 balls.

Matty Potts broke the partnership when Selman sliced a pull shot to Lees to go for 36, before he had Billy Root LBW next ball. In his next over, Potts got the key wicket of Carlson who was caught behind for a fine 82 made in just 59 balls.

Glamorgan’s lower order provided some useful contributions with Joe Cooke (29), Tom Cullen (24) & Andrew Salter (33) all falling in the final 10 overs.

Durham were left frustrated by a 10th wicket stand of 33 in 24 balls between Lukas Carey and Michael Hogan which took the final total to 296-9.

The chase began with a solid opening stand for Durham but they lost Alex Lees in the 11th over as we was bowled by Salter. The Glamorgan spinner had a second when Graham Clark was caught on the boundary for 40. 

Glamorgan struck two hammer blows when removing Scott Borthwick and Daniel Bedingham in the space of two overs to leave Durham 74-4 in the 20th over.

A partnership of 85 between Bancroft and Sean Dickson did at least give Durham some hope, with the Australian international going past 50 he was dismissed for 55 in the 34th over.

Dickson also reached 50 but he couldn’t find a partner as Ben Raine went for 10 in the 41st over.

The tail was cleaned up with a ruthless edge that Glamorgan have shown throughout the tournament and, fittingly, it was club legend Michael Hogan who took the final wicket.

Durham were all out for 238 leaving Glamorgan winners by 58 runs.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.